Tyrone Turner

"Action is the foundational key to all success." ~Pablo Picasso

Ever tried Isometrics?

Posted by Tyrone Turner on June 3, 2016

I’m on the comeback trail from Achilles Tendon repair surgery so I have been looking for things that I can do in the privacy of my home that can get me back into fighting shape without being so intense that I re-injure myself.

Isometrics is one such exercise approach. According to Dictionary.com, Isometrics is an exercise or a program of exercises to strengthen specific muscles or shape the figure by pitting one muscle or part of the body against another or against an immovable object in a strong but motionless action, as by pressing the fist of one hand against the palm of the other or against a desk. obiandtowel

I came across an old-school book on the topic authored by Henry Wittenberg who was Han Olympic Gold Medalist Champion Wrestler. A link at the end of this post will give you access to download a copy of a .pdf version of his book on Isometrics.

The only equipment that I needed for this workout was a chair, an old, knotted Karate belt and an old towel (the latter two are pictured). What was really cool is that the routine only took me 11 minutes to complete. I’ve been doing the routine for the last 4 days and I definitely feel a difference in my body. I’m feeling pretty good, y’all.

I will keep you posted as to my progress.

Oh, CLICK HERE to download a copy of Henry Wittenberg’s book.

Leave a Reply

 
